The day after

Thanksgiving was especially sweet yesterday for us. No big reason, just a nice morning at home with our little family then dinner at my parents with a total of 21 (I think) at the table. A random smattering of interesting people, my cousin Katie who is attending Baylor University in Texas, my parents’ friend from Nigeria, a family from Belarus and their new baby, in laws, an old friend of our family who always has a place at our table for holidays and just over a handful of kidlets too (most of which I take full responsibility for). We shared an incredible amount of good food and an array of 7, yes seven, dessert selections to choose from along with sharing our ‘thankful lists’ around the table as we ate.

november-2008-256Two thankful cutie’s who look SO much like each other!

Today we headed out to the aquarium downtown then wrapped it up with some fish’n’chips on the Pier. Rainy, windy and cold but it was great fun anyway. Our kids are totally enamored with their super cool 19 year old second cousin, it is fairly darling to watch them clamor for her attention.
november-2008-258

My favorite aquarium creature-the sea otter

november-2008-260Shivering in the windy cold on the Pier

november-2008-265

Before the aquarium adventure I discovered a new world, the fabric store. After having received my Christmas present early, a sewing machine-my first one, I headed to Joann Fabrics for their sale today to get some supplies for my new hobby. On the way there I had to stop by the mall, at 6:30 AM to get one small, quick purchase. Craziness. 50% of the people were teenagers and the other 50% seemed to be women in their 30’s or up who had showered, put make up on and dressed up nice-to shop-before the sun had even risen. They were hurried and rude and driven. I so do not fit in with that crowd. Not to mention people eating giant cheeseburgers from Kidd Valley. At 6:00 in the morning. Seriously?

After trekking to Joann’s (with Audrey in tow for all of this mind you) I discovered that I fit in much better there. Few people had dressed up for the occasion. Few had showered or put on makeup. Some were even still in pajama pants, how refreshing. Best of all, every time I had a question I didn’t even feel the need to ask a clerk, I just found ladies (usually 20 years or so older than me) who looked like crafting veterans. They would answer, chat with me, walk me to where I should go, picked out items for me…asked what I was making. It was slow, there were 30 people ahead of me to get fabric cut and as many to check out in the front, but surely time well spent. Now I have what I need to start making Christmas things and learning how to sew, how fun!

-Karissa

8 thoughts on “The day after

  1. Looks like you all had a great time at the aquarium. And I cannot believe how much Kyler and Rylee look alike. I have never noticed that until you just said that and its so true. Kyler is sure becoming a little boy too. Glad you had a wonderful Thanksgiving!

  2. I was at Joanns at 4 AM and was first in line, finally! Isn’t that pathetic that I part of me is proud to be first in line at a fabric store! LOL

    I did not dress up, I did not wear makeup and to be truthfully honest, I didn’t even brush my hair! I did however wear three warm layers on top because every other year before this one had been 22 degrees and that didn’t include the windchill!

    Everyone is simply wonderful at Joanns, except for this year one lady broke the mold by hitting me with her cart to get in at 6 AM when the doors opened to steal my first place victory walk! Hmmmph!

    I would have been out of place too at the mall. I don’t mind waking up before dawn to shop, but putting on makeup too? Forget it!

    Congrats on your successful Black Friday adventure!

  3. I can’t wait to see all of your new creations! I remember how you and mom used to get up crazy early every year for black friday šŸ™‚

  4. 4am? People go shopping at 4am? I couldn’t even get my act together enough to determine what would be WORTH shopping for at 4am.

    So glad I read this – I had to get a Strovas blog fix. šŸ™‚

    Wait a minute – I just re-read the 4am comment. You have to WAIT in line for 2 hours to get in at 6am???

Leave a comment